History of the Irish Pointer Club

On 17th March 1942 a meeting was held at Ballsbridge Grounds, Dublin, to form the first Irish Pointer Club. Capt. J.W. Gore presided at the meetingThe objectives of the club were outlined:- to promote the breeding of high class Pointers, to define and publish a description of the true type and to urge the adoption of such type on breeders and judges. Also to establish field trials, to offer prizes and to adopt any means as might be deemed advisable for the encouragement of the breed. After a number of years the club was disbanded due to problems with the Irish Kennel Club.

The Irish Pointer Club in its present form was founded in 1965 by a group of enthusiastic Pointer people. Its first President was Mr John Murray of Youghal, with Mr J.J. Blake as Chairman and Mr Hugh Jordan as Treasurer. The Secretary was Mr Robert O’Farrell.

The Club in its early days was small and efficient.In 1969 Mr S. OLoughlin succeeded Mr J.J. Blake as Chairman who retired, and in 1971 Robert O’Farrell was succeeded by Mr M.A. Carroll. 1974 saw Mr James Dalton succeeding Mr M.A. Carroll as Secretary and Mr Andy Morrissey succeeded Mr John Murray as President.

In 1975 Mr M.J. Early succeeded Mr S. OLoughlin as Chairman and Mr S O'Loughlin succeeded Hugh Jordan as Treasurer the same year. Mr A. Morrissey became President in 1975, a post he held until his death in 1985.

Mr M.A. Carroll was elected Treasurer in 1978, and Mr M. Doherty succeeded him in 1980. After Mr Morrissey’s death, Mr J.J. Blake was elected President.

This is the record of the officers of the club in the early years and much of the success stems from the foresight of those dedicated officers who brought the club to its present strength. Looking back to when the club was formed, it had at its disposal very good foundations on which to build.

In 1969 the club decided to hold its first breed show in conjunction with the Irish Gundog Field & Show Society and the club continued with them until 1975. In 1976 the Club joined forces with the Irish Red Setter Club to run both Breed Championship shows together and the venue was C.I.E. grounds at Inchicore, Dublin with Mr Des McGarry (Toberdoney) as judge. In 1982 the club joined forces with the English Setter Club of Ireland to hold both Championship shows together with Mrs Cicely Robertshaw (Crookrise) as judge and this partnership has proved very successful to the present day.

The club ran only one Open stake up to 1969, it held a puppy and novice in 1969 and in 1970 it had its first Breed Stake on Grouse on the Dublin Mountains.Entries for the breed stake were:- Hugh Jordan two dogs, Jack Stanley two dogs, Michael Early three dogs, Martin O'Connor two dogs, Brian Carr, John Nash, Sean Fleming, Seamus O'Domhnaill, Michael Carroll, Ken Larkin, Dr P.J.O'Flynn and James Dalton, one dog each.

The first autumn trials were run in 1971 at Enfield, Co Meath on pheasant and snipe and the clunb moved them to Athy, Co kildare in 1975. The club held its first Open Spring Trial in 1973 on the Dublin Mountains.

In 1980 Mr Michael Carroll resigned as Treasurer and Mr Michael Doherty was elected to succeed as Treasurer.

The club celebrated its 21st birthday in 1986 with the Championship show at Russell Park, Blanchardstown, Co Dublin, judged by Mr Sean Fleming of Barradaw fame. Best in Show was Rossenarra Diamond Lil, a bitch by Crookrise Pepper ex Int. Ch. Rossenarra Buckskin, owned by Mr & Mrs T Brophy. It held a two day sponsored Open Stake at Athy, Co Kildare with forty-five entries, judged by Mr P. Cashman and Mr T Kavanagh. The winner was Int FT Ch Lagopus Everst by Int FT Ch Millview Thunder ex Kerry Star owned by Mr J Dalton. A dinner was held in Athy on the first night of the trial with over fifty people attending and many sore heads appeared on the following day!

1986 also saw the launch of the Irish Pointer Club badge.

In 1990 the club celebrated its 25th birthday with the Championship Show held in Russell Park, and the judge was Mrs D. Dufton (Abidan). Best in Show was once again Ir. Ch. Rossenarra Diamond Lil and reserve Mr J Dowdall's dog Speed Ace. The club ran three days of trials at Athy, first day Open Pointer & Setter Stake, and then a two day sponsored Open Pointer Stake with fifty entries. The winner was Lagopus Lucky (Klofjellets Lagopus Gratis ex Lagopus Flint. A dinner and dance was held in the Vicarstown Inn in Vicarstown for the large attendance who enjoyed the night.

In 1991 Mr Michael Early became President and Mr J Stanley took over as Chairman.

In 1993 the club decided to produce a professional yearbook and Mr Sean Fleming produced it from 1994 to 2002, Mr James Dalton has produced it from 2003 to 2011. The yearbooks give the history, results, articles, personalities of the club over the years and are a collector's reference. Many of the yearbooks are available for purchase from the Hon. Secretary.

In 1995 Mr James Dalton resigned as secretary and Mrs Susan Brophy took over as secretary. Mr M Doherty resigned as Treasurer and Mr Robert Reamsbottom took over this important position. Michael Carroll was elected President in succession to Mr Michael Early.

In 1995 the committee decided to have an award for the best Pointer of the year at field trials and Sean Fleming presented the club with the Barradaw Trophy. The first winner in 1996 was Paddy Collins' dog Bracks Walk.

The Championship show moved to a new venue in 1996, Rathcrogue House in Carlow, and a successful and popular venue it was until it was unfortunately burned down in early 2002. Carlow Rugby Club proved a useful stopgap for the 2002 show, until a new venue was sought in 2003, in Ballon, Co Carlow, at Ballykealy Manor Hotel and the show remained there until 2016.

The officers of the club remained the same with S Brophy, Hon. Sec., R. Reamsbottom Hon. Treasurer, M. Carroll President and J. Stanley chaired the committee during this period. Committee meetings were lively and well attended. In 2002 R. Reamsbottom retired as Treasurer and Mr P Rohan was elected to the position, P. Collins was chairman of the committee.

Mr. Pat Dooley
Tel: 00353 86 8116485
Mr. Anthony Mulhall
Tel: 00353 87




Pointer illustration by
Peter O' Driscoll

Site Design by
Alchemation Studios